• E-mail us
  • View our Pinterest page
  • Join us on LinkedIn
  • Follow us on Twitter

Northern Society of Chartered Accountants

At the heart of northern business since 1882

Our Office Holders and Committee

The Northern Society of Chartered Accountants (NorSCA) is led by a President and supported by a Deputy President, Vice President, Honorary Treasurer, Honorary Secretary and other members of the General Committee.

The Office Holders and members of the General Committee are ICAEW members who undertake their role in a voluntary capacity to support their membership body.  They receive no remuneration for the time that they contribute to NorSCA or ICAEW activities.

Northern Society Office Holders

Office Holders serve for a period of one year until the next Annual General Meeting of the society.  Details of the current Office Holders are shown below.

Alan-JohnstonPresident: Alan Johnston FCA
Armstrong Watson, Chartered Accountants

Alan is Armstrong Watson’s elected Senior Partner and a member of the management board. He joined the firm from university and has been with the firm ever since. He acts for a wide range of owner managed businesses, professional partnerships, charities and individuals..

Deputy President: Keith Proudfoot FCA
Northern Society of Chartered Accountants
Twitter: @NorSCA_KMP

Keith became Deputy President of Northern Society in May 2018. Keith has an extensive business support network and until his retirement from ICAEW in December 2017 he was ICAEW Director, Northern & Scotland where his aim was to help grow the local economy knowing this will help members, wherever they work.

chris-soanVice President: Chris Soan FCA
Newcastle University Business School

Chris would like to encourage all members, from across the age-spectrum, not only to support social events and courses, but also to get in-touch with ideas of what they’d like the Northern Society Committee to organise

Chris is a past Chairman of the Tyne & Wear Society of Chartered Accountants and is President of NCASS.

Honorary Treasurer: Stuart Stone ACA
Kaplan Financial

Honorary Secretary: Mick Jeffrey FCA
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


KarenMuirImmediate Past President: Karen Muir FCA
Homes & Communities Agency

Karen is a Senior Manager at the Homes and Communities Agency specialising in financial due diligence and risk management. She qualified at Jennings Johnson in Sunderland where she worked as a Corporate Recovery Manager.

Karen is a past Chairman of the Tyne & Wear Society of Chartered Accountants and a former Chairman and President of NCASS.

General Committee

The General Committee supports the running of the society. In addition to the Office Holders the current members and attendees at General Committee meetings include:

Members of the Committee

Andrew Jackson FCA (National Audit Office) – Past President, Northern Society

Nick Lambert FCA  – Past President, Northern Society

Rob Tindle FCA (Tindle’s Chartered Accountants) – ICAEW Council Member for the Northern constituency

Hazel Smith ACA (UNW, Chartered Accountants) – Chairman, Tyne & Wear Society of Chartered Accountants

Angela Foster FCA (Tindle’s Chartered Accountants) – Co-Chairman, Teesside Society of Chartered Accountants

Emma Read ACA (PD Ports) – Co-Chairman, Teesside Society of Chartered Accountants

Clare Garrison ACA (Saint & Co, Chartered Accountants) – Chairman, Cumberland Society of Chartered Accountants

Pam Clarke FCA (Clarke’s Chartered Accountants) – Tyne & Wear Courses Chairman

Sam Hill ACA (Clarke’s Chartered Accountants) – Tyne & Wear Courses Deputy Chairman

Yasmin Smith (UNW, Chartered Accountants) – Chairman, Northern Chartered Accountant Students’ Society (NCASS)

Hebe Dyson (Dodd & Co, Chartered Accountants) – Chair, Cumberland Chartered Accountant Students’ Society (CCASS)

Attendees at General Committee

James Callaghan, ICAEW Regional Director, Northern

Joanne Lucking, ICAEW Regional Executive, Northern

Lorna Hansell, ICAEW Business Development Manager, Northern and Scotland