• E-mail us
  • View our Pinterest page
  • Join us on LinkedIn
  • Follow us on Twitter

Northern Society of Chartered Accountants

At the heart of northern business since 1882

Presidents’ Awards 2017 shortlist for Northern Society dinner announced 18 September 2017

This years finalists for the ‘Presidents Awards 2017’ for the Northern Society best performing students in the Professional and Advanced stages of the ICAEW exams 2016 have been announced.

Northern Society of Chartered AccountantsThe judges Karen Muir, President, David Arthur, immediate Past President and Lewis Pearson President of the Newcastle upon Tyne Law Society met to consider the citations for the Presidents’ Awards.

Again this year we have had a tremendous response with the judge’s finding it difficult to agree a shortlist and eventual winners, such was the quality of the students proposed.

However the judges have finally agreed and those shortlisted for the Presidents’ Awards Professional and Advanced Stage are listed below.

Order of Merit and BASE Mentor awards to be presented also

We are also delighted to announce the finalists of the Northern Society BASE Mentor of the Year Award 2017.

And we will also be presenting the Northern Society Order of Merit Student of the Year Awards (at both Professional Stage and Advanced Stage) for those students who achieved first place in the Northern Society area in the ICAEW exams in 2016.

Business and Awards Dinner with Steph McGovern - Northern Society of Chartered Accountants ICAEW
President’s Award Professional Stage Shortlist

Joe Black – Leathers LLP

Jamie Hogg – Tait Walker

Ross Jackson – Armstrong Watson

Rebecca Liddell – Ernst & Young

Michael Lawrence  – RSM UK

Billy Mack – National Audit Office

President’s Award Advanced Stage Shortlist

Northern Society of Chartered AccountantsKatherine Brown – Dodd & Co

Abigail Davenport – Armstrong Watson

Louise McLeod – National Audit Office

Rebecca Pearce – TTR Barnes

Daniella Shortland – Dodd & Co

Rachael Stein – PwC

BASE Mentor of the Year 2017 finalists

ICAEW BASEDetails of the finalists for the Northern Society BASE Mentor of the Year award 2017 are as follows:

Teesside ICAEW BASE heat – Dhanish Hussain – National Audit Office

Carlisle ICAEW BASE heat – Whitney Savage – Armstrong Watson

Newcastle ICAEW BASE heat – Mark Earl – Eden Farm Hulleys

The winner will be announced on 13 October 2017.

Winners to be announced at dinner with Steph McGovern on 13 October 2017

Steph McGovern to speak at Northern Society Business and Awards Dinner on 13 October 2017

The winners of the awards will be announced at the Northern Society Business and Awards Dinner with BBC Breakfast’s Steph McGovern on Friday 13 October and will receive their awards from Nick Parker, ICAEW President and Karen Muir, Northern Society President.

There are still places available to book please contact Joanne Lucking ([email protected])

More information on the Northern Society Awards can be found at norsca.co.uk/awards

About Northern Society

Northern Society of Chartered Accountants (NorSCA) represents ICAEW members working in business and the finance profession across the North East of England, Teesside, Northern Yorkshire and Cumbria. We have been assisting businesses in the north of England and producing chartered accountants for over 130 years.


Share this article...