• E-mail us
  • View our Pinterest page
  • Join us on LinkedIn
  • Follow us on Twitter

Northern Society of Chartered Accountants

At the heart of northern business since 1882

ICAEW Council

icaew-council-northern-society-of-chartered-accountantsThe Council is ICAEW’s supreme governing body, responsible for oversight of its activities. Council agrees ICAEW’s strategy and budget, delegating day to day operation to committees and staff.

The majority of Council is elected by ICAEW members, supplemented by co-opted and ex officio members. This is to ensure that Council represents the main sectors and interests of the whole membership.

More details about the role of Council in the governance of ICAEW can be found on icaew.com

Your Council Representative

robtindleCouncil Member: Rob Tindle FCA
Tindle’s Chartered Accountants
[email protected]

Follow Rob on Twitter: @ICAEWNorthCounc

Rob has broad experience and is currently working in practice and industry, as Senior Partner in a firm of Chartered Accountants and developer and operator of a 200 bedroom hotel.

He was formerly President (2015/16) and Treasurer of NorSCA, and sat on the ICAEW Audit Registration Committee (2006/12). He also currently serves on the Professional Conduct Department committees..

Past Council Members

The Northern Society of Chartered Accountants has been represented on the ICAEW Council since 1882, and the names of our representatives are listed below together with the date of their election and when they first took up an ICAEW Council seat. NorSCA had 2 members on ICAEW Council for many years, but following changes in the composition and number of members of ICAEW Council NorSCA now has one representative.

1882 – G B Monkhouse
1887 – T Y Strachan
1888 – T Bowden
1913 – J H Armstrong
1923 – J A Sisson
1927 – T Wallace
1935 – W Rose
1944 – G Adam
1951 – T A L Thompson
1952 – R P Winter
1957 – C P Barrowcliff
1966 – S A Middleton
1966 – H Kirton
1966 – K J Sharp
1970 – R G Wilson
1982 – C D Kyle
1985 – E Hudson
1987 – H L Gatoff
1991 – J S Collier
1991 – W W Ions
1998 – R S Liddell
2001 – W R Graham
2013 – R Barrigan
2017 – R R Tindle